Southwood Primary School

Home Page

Southwood Primary School

Home Page

Reading @ Southwood


At Southwood Primary School, we aim to provide children with a literacy-rich environment, high quality texts and inspiring learning opportunities, which will help the children to:

  • Gain a life-long enjoyment of reading and books
  • Read accurately, fluently and with understanding
  • Apply a knowledge of structured synthetic phonics in order to decode unfamiliar words with increasing accuracy and speed
  • Read with expression, clarity and confidence

  • Broaden their vocabulary
  • Develop comprehension skills and analyse what they read
  • Participate in discussion and debate about texts



Take One Book (Y2-Y6)

The children’s learning then continues into Key Stage 2.  Skills for reading, comprehension, fluency and vocabulary are taught through exciting book-based units which offer engaging reading experiences. To reinforce early reading skills children will be exposed to a range of carefully chosen high quality texts, following the Take One Book four-stage framework for reading which is based on up-to-date research and tested in schools.  High-quality dialogic teaching underpins and is key to the process.


Stage 1

Hook and Orientation takes account of what readers need to know to access a text.


Stage 2

First Encounters secures literal understanding and provides opportunities for exploration of texts as children develop their understanding.


Stage 3

Digging Deeper focuses on teaching new skills, unlocking the layers of meaning with text and language study.


Stage 4

Review and Reflect includes revisiting a text, thinking about thematic content and text to world discussions.

Reading for Pleasure

Each year group, from Nursery to Year 6, have 10 recommended reads as well as a wide range of fiction and non-fiction texts.  These form the basis of Southwood’s Reading List.  This have been compiled to enhance, develop and reinforce understanding of genres, plot, author intent and vocabulary. Each text has been carefully chosen to enable children to develop a love of reading and to ensure that they have a wide variety of texts to choose from. Discussions around the texts encourage children to really focus on identifying key aspects, drawing links and making comparisons, all of which are skills that the children are tested on at the end of each Key Stage.

As part of creating a reading school and a love of reading, each year group also has identified key authors and poets. These authors and poets build up a broad and balanced knowledge of a range of writers which provide the children with a variety of texts that they can then compare and contrast. The author books will be read aloud to the children, on a daily basis, to reinforce all the skills that are being taught during reading. They will support the development of high order questioning and critical thinking based around a text.


All of these approaches put together form the fundamental skills to allow children to learn to read, develop a love of reading as well as appreciating texts from different eras, genres, cultures and authors. At Southwood we truly believe this encourages children to learn and become lifelong readers.


The impact of the reading curriculum is assessed during and after each unit of reading, with the opportunity for the teachers and pupils to evaluate.  Gaps in reading skills are identified by the teacher and carried forward to future units of reading where necessary. Reading objectives for the unit (aligned to the National Curriculum) are shared with the pupils at the beginning and their reading is continuously assessed against these areas.  Formal assessment judgements are made termly and pupils' progress against the end of year expectations are monitored.  Children who have 1:1 reading with an adult are also benchmarked termly to assess their progress.